V-Up Challenge: Day 1

 

Today is the first day of Vertical Fitness’ V-Up Challenge. There are two versions of the challenge. One, see how many V-ups you can do between February 14 and March 15. Two, see how much you can improve your V-up from day 1 to day 30.

I’m opting to see how much I can improve.

Things I need to work on:

  • Not jumping up to get momentum
  • Diamond legs all the way up
  • Straighter legs when extended out
  • Hips higher towards my hands once inverted
  • Looking out/forward, not up at my hands
  • More controlled exit
  • Inverting with straight legs (goal)
  • Inverting in the air, not from the mat (goal)

This is going to involve a lot of at-home conditioning work. V-ups on the floor, all of the Scott Fun moves Scott showed me, leg lifts on the pull-up bar. Plus continued work on releasing my lower lumbar, lengthening and strengthening the hip flexors, stretching for splits (to help with straight extended legs). Not to mention, drilling straddle back inverts whenever I have the opportunity.

It’s all stuff I know I should be working on all the time. But haven’t been. The challenge format should hopefully get me up off my butt and do it (figuratively and literally).

Leave a comment